Friday, October 28, 2016

Oklahoma City


All set up in Oklahoma City and ready to start work at a local hospital Monday.

Thursday, October 27, 2016

Roadrunner RV Park


Fog


Driving west on I-40 this morning in Oklahoma.  It was the worst fog I had ever driven in and was a bit terrifying.  My thoughts were "do I slow down and risk getting hit from behind or do I keep my speed up (about 55) and risk running into somebody in front of me that has slowed down.  Plus I was pulling a travel trailer so my distance needed to stop was increased.

Friday, September 23, 2016

Tuesday, August 2, 2016

Thomasville, NC

Now I am in Thomasville, NC for a 3 month contract.  It is much more peaceful here and with far less traffic than what I experienced in Manassas, VA over the last 3 months.

Sunday, April 24, 2016

Manassas, Virginia

Here I am in Manassas, Virginia just outside of DC.  I am getting ready to start a 13 week work assignment at Novant Prince William Medical Center in Manassas.
My first meal here in town was a wonderful chicken fried steak with mashed potatoes and veggies.





Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Tuesday, January 5, 2016

Almost Done

Almost finished.  I just have a few toroids to wind and a couple of transistors to mount.

Monday, January 4, 2016

KN-Q7A

My latest radio construction project, the KN-Q7A SSB 40 meter radio.


Here is what it will look like when finished.


Saturday, November 21, 2015

Friday, November 20, 2015

Saturday, November 7, 2015

Thursday, November 5, 2015

Computer Control

After some trial and error, I managed to link my computer to my transceiver for computer control of the radio.  Works great.


Friday, October 30, 2015

KM4OLR

Official today as per the FCC.  My new radio call sign is KM4OLR (kilo mike four oscar lima romeo).  My primary interest is morse code so I will be on the air tonight practicing my code.  The picture below is my Bencher Iambic paddle for sending Morse.